Skip to content

Darker Visions

May 3, 2009

I have given up trying to convince those I am surrounded by that the dark realities of horror are more than just the same tired retreads of mainstream slasher pics and low budget zombie gorefests.  I have given up hope that I may convince a loved one, a brother, a best friend that the study of horror, science fiction, and dark fantasy will provide a fresh and unique look at the human condition. 

After so many years of watching these movies alone, late at night, where noone can hear the screams of despair and angst, I have decided that it is time to prepare a place for those like me.  A place where you can get an idea, a recommendation, or a warning.  I assume that if you are here at the Darker Side of Film, then you are looking for that next powerful movie, that next new take on an ancient theme, and that next new filmmaker that will force us to wait for each new movie. 

Over the past few years, I have discovered a few of those on my own.  I hope you will become a collaborator in our search for new and undiscovered talent.  I look forward to sharing my opinions and hearing yours.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2009 4:22 pm

    you did teach us that everything piece of art has something behind it. when i looked, they did. so why not horror movies…? sure.

  2. May 25, 2009 4:23 pm

    *every piece*

Leave a Reply

